It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books are a valuable tool for academic research which provide in-depth coverage of a topic, valuable background (and often historical) information on a topic, and an overview of key issues related to a topic. You do not necessarily have to read an entire book for every research project you are assigned. Utilize the introduction, index, and chapter titles to narrow down which sections of a book are most pertinent to your research. You can also find other important sources through their bibliographies.
Films can also be a valuable source of information, and this page links to our film databases.
HELM : Powered by Koha
What is HELM? What is Koha?
Founded in 2017, HELM (Higher Education Libraries of Massachusetts) is an association of Massachusetts college libraries in public higher education. HELM libraries are also members of the FenwayLibrary Organization (FLO), a consortium of academic and special libraries in Massachusetts. FLO provides library support and hosts the HELM catalog.
Koha Library Software is the world's first free and open source library system, and is the software used to manage the online catalog for HELM. Koha is a fully featured, scalable library management system. Development is sponsored by libraries of varying types and sizes, volunteers, and support companies worldwide.
HELM is the online catalog for the Bristol Library & Learning Commons. It helps you learn about materials the library owns, and provides you with call numbers for where the materials are shelved.
HELM provides circulation information (whether the item is checked out and, if so, when it is due), allows you to recall and renew items online, and contains information on materials placed on reserve for your classes. HELM bibliographic records also link to electronic resources such as journals and full-text books if the library has a subscription.
Materials Found in HELM
Here are some of the kinds of materials you can find using HELM:
Books (including electronic books)
Library holdings for journals, magazines and newspapers (periodicals)
Audio and video recordings (including CDs & DVDs)
Government publications, microforms
Maps, atlases and archives
Note: You won't find individual periodical articles in HELM. Where are they? Check out the Find Articles tutorial to learn more about how to find them.
Keyword Searching in HELM
There are many ways to search HELM. You can search by:
The title of a book, periodical, or other item
The author and title (or title words)
Any keywords that appear in the title or subject
The subject category of an item
The call number of an item
When looking for items on a topic or subject, start with a keyword search instead of a subject search. Keyword searching is a bit more flexible in the way it searches and may retrieve a wider variety of results as you begin your research.
Remember to combine multiple terms with the words "and," "or" and "not."
HELM Catalog Basic Search
eBook Tutorial - eBook Central & eBook Ebscohost
Why should I look in books?
Why should you do research in books?
Books provide in-depth coverage of a topic
Books often provide valuable background information on a topic
Books can also provide an overview of all issues pertaining to a topic
Books can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
You do not necessarily have to read an entire book for every research paper you have to do. Utilize the index and the chapter titles to narrow down which section of the book is most pertinent to your research.
BCC eBook Collections can be accessed from anywhere- both on and off campus, on your smart phone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer. eBook Central is a great place to start. You will need to use your 900 number to access from off campus.
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 18,000* titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons.