ANS153: Animal Health and Diseases (Macho): Web Resources

Integrated Digitized Biocollections (iDigBio), an initiative funded by the National Science Foundation. Data and images for millions of biological specimens are being made available in electronic format for the research community, government agencies, students, educators, and the general public.

"The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines"

his updated online version features over 1400 images - including new video and audio files - that allow users to view rare disease-causing organisms, identify plants poisonous to animals, see characteristic lesions, or review practical laboratory techniques.

The USDA's animal health site provides access to reports on animal diseases, veterinary biologics, professional development, and other relevant topics.

The Federal Drug Administration's Animal and Veterinary online resource provides information about recalls and alerts, new animal drug clearances, publications, news, and events.

Provides access to a variety of brochures from the American Veterinary Medical Association.

This website by the Center for Disease Control provides pet health information for both pet owners and animal health professionals.

Provides information regarding the public health of animals and humans.

A glossary of commonly used veterinary terms, including abbreviations of professional association names.

Research Animal Resources from the University of Minnesota. Links to safety, training, euthanasia, anesthesia, and more.

This resource contains topics on animal health, ethics, food safety, and laws and regulations

"Veterinary medicine and animal care workers ... are exposed to biological, chemical, physical, and psychological hazards depending on their workplace setting, species of animals worked with, and type of tasks performed. CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; NIOSH - The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, US Government website.

Purdue Online Writing Lab. "...guidelines for writing the patient care plan portion of the veterinary medical record. As there is no standardized format for writing a veterinary care plan, the following principles are only one example of how a care plan may be formulated."

Excellent anatomy drawings: "The following illustrations are scanned images taken from the classic works of the German veterinary anatomists, Wilhelm Ellenberger and Hermann Baum, and medical illustrator, Hermann Dittrich. The texts, from which these illustrations were derived, are works published in 1898 and 1911 through 1925, all entitled Handbuch der Anatomie der Tiere für Künstler." University of Wisconsin.