It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Full text database providing biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genre. The award-winning Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
Using Wikipedia can be a great place to start your research. You can learn about a topic, much like you can in Credo Reference, but you can also find links to other sources. Never cite Wikipedia, but use it as a jumping off point for your research.
For example, look up the play you read: For instance, I have looked up the play Romeo & Juliet.
The wikipeida entry reviews the acts of the play, the plot, characters, etc. In addition, there is some literary criticism and from looking through this I see there is Feminist Cristicism about this play. This leads me to think about what I could find in one of the library databases about Feminism and Romeo and Juliet. Reference sources like Credo Reference and Wikipedia can give you some background information and spur ideas.