It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Originally published as a series of chapters in the magazine Forerunner in 1915, Charlotte Perkins Gilman's Herland was rediscovered in 1979 and published for the first time in novel format. It is widely available today as both a stand-alone novel and in collections of her works. As feminist utopian literature, the novel challenges early twentieth-century values and norms and boldly suggests that women as a collective population have the power to transform society into a cohesive unit of peace-seeking, cooperative people.
The first of her three utopian novels, Herland introduces three male protagonists, each symbolic of commonly held viewpoints of women during the Victorian age. Although Van, Jeff, and Terry make the journey through the book together, each has a unique experience dependent upon his attitude and willingness to let go of gender stereotypes and attitudes."
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, overviews or 75,000 frequently studied works, and over 30,000 poems, short stories and plays. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism-Select, an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers.
A digital library founded in 1995. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
Full text database providing biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genre. The award-winning Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Finding Information Online
Interlibrary loan is a service that is free but restricted in use to current students, staff, and faculty with a valid Bristol Community College Student ID. Please be ready to provide your 900# when submitting a request. If an item is unavailable through the Library Learning Commons HELM Online Catalog OR the Commonwealth Catalog, this services allows you to borrow books or receive copies of documents that are owned by libraries outside our lending area.
About Charlotte Perkins Gilman
"Charlotte Perkins Gilman was born on 3 July 1860 in Hartford, Connecticut, to Frederick Beecher Perkins and his distant cousin Mary Fitch Wescott Perkins. She was the youngest of three children born to the couple in their first three years of marriage; the others were Thomas Henry, born on 15 March 1858, who lived only a few weeks, and Thomas Aide, born 9 May 1859. Gilman was born into a gifted family rooted in social activism: her father Frederick was the grandson of Lyman Beecher, a noted Calvinist clergyman, who, according to Anne J. Lane, "married three times and fathered twelve surviving children, which made him, according to Unitarian clergyman Theodore Parker, 'the father of more brains than anyone else in America.' "
Excerpt from American Women Prose Writers, 1870-1920 (2000), by Robin Miskolcze
You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library. If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard. Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number.
Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.