Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HST 111: The West and the World, Pt. I (Dimock): Starting Your Research

Before You Start Your Research

 

Watch the following tutorials to help you begin thinking about your topic and formulate a research question. 

Google can be a great place to start your research and find out more about a topic, but you will also need to find authoritative sources on the web.  Visit the Web Resources tab on this guide for some sociology related websites. 

There are also 2 library databases that can help you explore different topics. 

1.  Credo Reference offers on-line encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs.  See below for a tutorial on how to use Credo Reference.   Reference resources are a perfect place to start exploring your topic and gain background knowledge.

After watching the tutorials --

USE THESE TOOLS BELOW TO HELP WITH YOUR ASSIGNMENT

 

 

This History 111 Subject Guide might also offer additional resources for background information and links to other helpful websites.

Tutorial - Picking Your Topic & The Research Process

What is a Reference Resource?

Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.

The databases below are a great starting place for exploring a topic.

Tutorial - Coming up with Your Reseach Question

Research in Books & eBooks

  • Books provide in-depth coverage of a topic.
  • Books often provide valuable background information on a topic.
  • Books can also provide an overview of all the issues pertaining to a topic.

Using Goolge to Start Your Research

Using the Internet for Research

 

  • The Internet provides brief overviews of a topic
  • The Internet often provides valuable statistics
  • The Internet can sometimes help you discover the stakeholders of a specific issue.