Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HST 111: The West and the World, Pt. I (Dimock): Articles and Databases

Why should I look for academic articles?

Why should you do research in academic journals?

  • Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
  • Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
  • Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
  • Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies

If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.

Accessing BCC Library Resources from Off-Campus

When you are off campus (or in locations without a recognized IP address), you will be required to verify that you are a current BCC student by entering either your student ID number or your BCC Campus Card ID.

For library databases (including eBook databases) all you need is your 900#

 

Introduction

BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles.  The databases below have been chosen especially for research for HIST112.

Icon Legend

You may see the following icons on databases, journals, or websites.

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/bpl.png

Boston Public Library Resource

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/peer_review_icon.png

Peer Reviewed Content

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/government_document.jpg

United States Government Document or Publication

Using Goolge to Start Your Research

How do I get into a BPL Database?

 If you see this symbol

Boston Public Library Logo

You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library.  If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard.  Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number. 

Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.