Medical Assisting: Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Click on the "Browse by subject" to access journals to search for topics in Medical Assisting.

Impact of electronic medical record on physician practice in office settings: a systematic review
Authors: Lau Francis, Price Morgan, Boyd Jeanette, Partridge Colin, Bell Heidi, Raworth Rebecca
Publisher: BioMed Central
Date of publication: 2012 February
ISSN(s): 1472-6947
Full text: http://www.biomedcentral.com/1472-6947/12/10
 

Abstract:

Increased investments are being made for electronic medical records (EMRs) in Canada. There is a need to learn from earlier EMR studies on their impact on physician practice in office settings. To address this need, we conducted a systematic review to examine the impact of EMRs in the physician office, factors that influenced their success, and the lessons learned.

Conclusions:

Currently there is limited positive EMR impact in the physician office. To improve EMR success one needs to draw on the lessons from previous studies such as those in this review.

There are many sources in the library where one can locate journals - which contain the articles - required for research.  There is the traditional method of print and microfilm, where you have to go to the library and photocopy or print out the information you need.

We also subscribe to a plethora of on-line databases, which provide access to the full text journal on-line.  Students are able to type in a variety of topics, for instance "medical assistant, coding, electronic medical records" either separately or together as a string, and the databases searches and finds a multitude of information in the form of articles which can be accessed.  BCC students are able to access the databases from home.

In addition, we have provided links to "open source" journals and articles, which means that the publisher is "allowing" the journal and articles within to be accessed for free.
 

Journal of Medical Radiation Sciences ​​
Subjects: Medical physics. Medical radiology. Nuclear medicine
ISSN(s): 2051-3895, 2051-3909
Keywords: radiation sciences, radiography, radiology, imaging, sonography
Home page: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/10.1002/(ISSN)2051-3909

CMA Today

Subjects: Medicine -- Medicine (General) -- Practice of medicine. Medical practice economics

Print Holdings (Embargo: ) Your Access: Current Year (Embargo: )

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder is a new state-of-the-art publication search service that includes your knowledgebase and a suite of holdings management tools and is designed to replace the existing EBSCO A-to-Z Reader Site.  Full Text Finder  is a searchable database from Ebsco that allows you to locate journals within the collection of print and online journals.  It includes journals we have access to within the many databases to which we subscribe. 

For instance, if you type in a journal we have online access to, Full Text Finder is going to direct you to the full text page with a list of what database it is located and the time frame in which coverage is provided: 

If there is no access to a title in which you need for your research, you may place an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the article title.