Occupational Therapy Assistant
Academic Databases from BCC
Below are links to BCC databases that index science journals. These databases are subscription-based, so remember: when researching anywhere off-campus, you'll need to enter your 900 number in order to access and search for journal articles.
Databases
Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article. Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case, there is a link to an HTML or PDF document.
For a complete listing of health databases click here.
- Health & Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis multi-source database integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Most of these sources provide the full text of the article/chapter. Find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Coverage: 1980 – present. American Journal of Occupational Therapy, British Journal of Occupational Therapy, Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy Now (OT Now) can be found here.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine CollectionBoth researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProviding full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 456 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.
- eBook Central This link opens in a new windowChoose from 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. ProQuest Ebook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform. Its mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book.
- Locate Journalsand NewspapersNeed a specific journal? Search here.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.