Last Updated: Sep 25, 2013
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- US Census Bureau
- To serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Full Mission Statement »
- The United States Census Bureau operates under Title 13 and Title 26, of the U.S. Code
- To provide the best mix of timeliness, relevancy, quality, and cost for the data we collect and services we provide
- News Paper Databases (Several)
Provides access to full-text content of local and regional news from the Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Springfield Union-News and the Worcester Telegram & Gazette, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- Global Issues In Context
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.
- Academic Search Premier
One of the largest academic multi-disciplinary databases, providing indexing and abstracting for over 8,000 periodicals. Full text is provided for more than 4,650 of these titles with over 3,590 of these being peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. Searchable, cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Coverage: 1975 (over 100 journals) – present.
- Academic OneFile
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.