SOC101: Principles of Sociology (Avedikian ): Annotated Bibliography Resources
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
According to the OWL at Purdue, a bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. An annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.
More on Annotated Bibliographies
Annotated Bibliographies: How-To Guide
Helpful Links
- Annotated Bibliographies DefinedWhat is an annotated bibliography and why should I write one?
- Annotated Bibliography Samples (APA & MLA)Sample annotations in both APA and MLA style.
Annotations
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations for various books, articles, and other sources on a topic. The annotated bibliography looks like a Reference page but includes an annotation after each source cited. An annotation is a short summary and/or critical evaluation of a source. Annotated bibliographies can be part of a larger research project, or can be a stand-alone report in itself.
Types of Annotations
A summary annotation describes the source by answering the following questions: who wrote the document, what the document discusses, when and where was the document written, why was the document produced, and how was it provided to the public. The focus is on description.
An evaluative annotation includes a summary as listed above but also critically assesses the work for accuracy, relevance, and quality. Evaluative annotations can help you learn about your topic, develop a thesis statement, decide if a specific source will be useful for your assignment, and determine if there is enough valid information available to complete your project. The focus is on description and evaluation.