Biology
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
- National Institute of Environmental Health SciencesDiscover more resources via the NIEHS Library catalog. Sources listed here do not constitute full text access and may require using the BCC Interlibrary Loan service. Please contact a librarian for assistance in locating titles.
Interlibrary Loan
Books not available through the BCC Libraries can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) , a service free of charge to all current BCC students, faculty, and staff!
Find books from other libraries
- WorldCat
WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries throughout the state and around the world! Use WorldCat to look beyond the collections found in the HELM and Ebrary catalogs.
Bristol LLC Search
- A-Z List of DatabasesThe complete list of databases we offer for finding research resources. You need your 900 number to access these databases from home. List can be sorted alphabetically, by subject, and by content type.
- HELM Course Reserve CatalogCourse Reserve provides textbooks, books, and other materials that support the instructional requirements of specific courses. Many faculty members choose to place material on reserve in order to ensure that all students in the class have access to it. Physical course reserves, such as books and DVDs, are located at each campus at the circulation desk of the Library Learning Commons. This links to the HELM catalog search for Course Reserve materials in the Bristol LLC.
- Commonwealth CatalogCan't find what you are looking for in our system? With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library.
Choose HELM-BCC : Bristol Community College LRC.
Login in with 22777 plus your 900# (or the barcode on the back of your student ID) and PIN (typically last 4 digits telephone number).
- Interlibrary Loan - ILLIf an item is unavailable through the Library Learning Commons HELM Online Catalog OR the Commonwealth Catalog, this services allows you to borrow books or receive copies of documents that are owned by libraries outside our lending area.
- Journal Title Look-UpSearch our physical and database journals by title.
How do I locate a book on the shelf at BCC Libraries?
While it is certainly convenient to search the catalog and have books sent to your local library for pick up, browsing the collections of a library can be very productive; often revealing sources as good as - if not better - than what you initially found in the catalog! Below is the shelf range for books on the subject of biology and related topics and their approximate location on the shelf as identified by the Library of Congress Classification System. If you need help finding your way around the library 'stacks,' ask any library staff member!
QH Natural History - Biology
- 1-199.5...........General (including nature conservation, geographical distribution)
- 1-278.5............Natural History (General)
- 201-278.5.........Microscopy
- 301-705.5..........Biology (General)
- 359-425...........Evolution
- 426-470...........Genetics
- 471-489...........Reproduction
- 501-531...........Life
- 540-549.5.........Ecology
- 573-671...........Cytology
- 705-705.5.........Economic biology
QK Botany
- 1-989..............Botany (General)
- 1-474.5...........General (including geographical distribution)
- 474.8-495.........Spermatophyta & Phanerogams
- 494-494.5........Gymnosperms
- 495..............Angiosperms
- 504-638...........Cryptogams
- 640-707...........Plant anatomy
- 710-899...........Plant physiology
- 900-989...........Plant ecology
QL Zoology
- 1-991..............Zoology (General)
- 1-355.............General (including geographical distribution)
- 360-599.82........Invertebrates
- 461-599.82.......Insects
- 605-739.8.........Chordates. Vertebrate
- 614-639.8........Fish
- 640-669.3........Reptiles and amphibians
- 671-699..........Birds
- 700-739.8........Mammals
- 750-795...........Animal behavior
- 791-795..........Stories and anecdotes
- 799-799.5.........Morphology
- 801-950.9.........Anatomy
- 951-991...........Embryology
Google Book Search
Google Books offer selected page views from published books. These are not meant to substitute access to the full text of any book -- either online or in print. In depth review is necessary to understand how a book's author is covering a subject.
If a publisher has given Google permission (this is rare), you can see a preview of the book, "and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy...[and] you'll be able read the book from start to finish."