Biology
Reference Resources
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
In order to access online reference sources from the BCC Libraries off-campus, you will be required to enter your 900 student ID number when prompted:
Selected Print Reference Sources
Butterflies Through Binoculars by Call Number: REF QL 551 E16 G58 1999ISBN: 0195106687Publication Date: 1999-04-22"Combines the immediacy and vividness of actual photographs of living butterflies with the traditional field guide format *Emphasizes conservation over collection *Includes 630 color photographs, arranged on 72 color plates, of butterflies in the wild *Provides adjacent color maps that show where each species occurs in a given locality and for how much of the year *Supplies entirely new field marks for butterfly identification *Demonstrates how to identify subjects by way of the key characteristics butterflies are likely to display in their natural settings *Shows how species can be recognized both from above and below *Explains how to differentiate between males and females."
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by Call Number: REF QL 713.2 E53 2009ISBN: 9780123735539Publication Date: 2008-11-24"Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited 2e remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals."
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. by Call Number: REF QL 7 G7813 2003ISBN: 0787653624Publication Date: 2002-10-04"Following an extensive six- to nine-chapter overview, organization is taxonomical. Each family or order is discussed in terms of general description, evolution, structure and function, distribution, habitat, behavior, feeding, reproduction, conservation status, and relationship to humans. These descriptions are generally followed by anywhere from 2 to 20 representative species accounts that include rich illustrations and range maps."
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Call Number: REF QH332 E52 2004 V.1-4ISBN: 9780028659169Publication Date: 2005The revolutionary advances in biotechnology and healthcare are so pervasive that no one can avoid debating the ethical questions they raise. Bioethics is a reflection on the moral significance of nature and human nature, and on the development and application of biomedical technologies consistent with that significance.
Turtles of the World by Call Number: REF QL 666 C5 B57 2006ISBN: 9780801884962Publication Date: 2006-09-07
Selected Online Reference Sources
American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present is a collection of biographies of the men and women who have made a significant contribution to environmental issues over the last 200 years. Biographies range from scientists to advocates, businessmen to musicians, politicians to actors, along with others who have forever altered how we think about the environment.
Bumble Bees of North America is the first comprehensive guide to North American bumble bees to be published in more than a century. Richly illustrated with color photographs, diagrams, range maps, and graphs of seasonal activity patterns, this guide allows amateur and professional naturalists to identify all 46 bumble bee species found north of Mexico and to understand their ecology and changing geographic distributions.
The Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Second Edition, is the first comprehensive reference focused on the field's terms, research, history, and people. This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of Insects covers all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology.
U.S. Land and Natural Resources Policy: A Public Issues Handbook offers a comprehensive overview of the policy debates surrounding U.S. public lands and the natural resources they contain. This greatly expanded second edition traces the origin and evolution of policy, the current debate and future direction of land and natural resources policy.
The Visual Guides series answers the most important questions on topics that fascinate everyone through a series of videos and animations: weather, the human body, the Earth, the universe and plants. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in these areas.