Bristol Community College Library Learning Commons: Chemistry: Articles & Databases

Academic Databases from BCC

Below are links to BCC databases that index science journals. These databases are subscription-based, so remember: when researching anywhere off-campus, you'll need to enter your 900 number in order to access and search for journal articles.

Search for academic articles using library databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
This tutorial shows you how to narrow a research topic within Academic OneFile: https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
This tutorial shows you how to use the Get Link tool found in many Gale resources to create persistent links back to documents, searches, and more: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video5
This tutorial shows you how to use Citation Tools found in many Gale resources to simplify the research process: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video1
This tutorial shows you how to use the Topic Finder found in many Gale resources to analyze search results and create a unique research topic: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video6

Science Direct - College Edition
Full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.