Graphic Design: Articles & Databases
Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. The databases below have been chosen especially for research in Graphic Design.
Icon Legend
|
|
|
|
|
Boston Public Library Resource |
Peer Reviewed Content |
United States Government Document or Publication |
Recommended Databases for Reasearch in Graphic Design
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text rounds out the research experience for those studying other fields, such as women’s, media or cultural studies; history; anthropology; industrial design; and other related areas of study. Researchers are able to track the careers of artists and review their materials and methods, and can find books by and about artists, as well as interviews, profiles and much more. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- Art Museum Image GalleryArt Museum Image Gallery covers of a broad range of time and place, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day, and art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples. The images in this collection offer a wealth of art information to enrich leaning in cultural studies, area studies, women's studies, archaeology, history, religion, social studies, literature and more.
- Business OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBusiness OneFile contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications, which are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Multi-Discipline Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
Search Films on Demand
Search Films on Demand from anywhere to find educational streaming videos.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowA web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.
Looking for Journals in Graphic Design?
The drop-down menu Graphic Design Journals (under Articles & Databases) lists journals that publish articles on this and other related topics.
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
How do I get into a BPL Database?
If you see this symbol
You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library. If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard. Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number.
Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.
- Register with the Boston Public LibraryConnect to hundreds of additional databases through the Boston Public Library.