Deaf Studies
This guide provides starting points for research in Deaf Studies.
Print Reference Sources
The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education by Call Number: REF HV 2380 O88 2011
The Deaf History Reader by Call Number: HV 2530 D43 2007
Deaf Artists in America by Call Number: REF N 6505 S614 2002
eReference Books & Entries for Deaf Stufies
- World Federation of the DeafThe World Federation of the Deaf (WFD) was founded in 1951. It consists of 83 members representing the languages of English, French, and Italian.
- National Association for the DeafFounded in 1880, NAD is a private, nonprofit federation of 51 state association affiliates, sponsoring and organizational affiliates, and direct members.
- Disability, Human Rights and Contemporary GeneticsPeople who are culturally Deaf have a positive attitude toward being deaf. Typically, they do not wish to be treated or cured of their deafness and may feel threatened that genetic technology could reduce the numbers of deaf people being born.
eReference Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowFull text database indexing over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Articles range from a paragraph to several pages. Learn about related topics by clicking on the links provided throughout the article.
- Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
- Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information and current prices for popular serials. This database contains nearly 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide; email and Internet addresses; historical data for an additional 20,000 titles.