Clinical Lab Science: Reference Resources

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your Bristol Community College Campus card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated Bristol Community College Campus card/Student ID.  This will ensure remote access.

BCC Libraries provide access to a collection of eBooks specific for Allied Health topics. Below is a brief description of the selected titles and instructions on how to access. Please visit the database Credo Reference, Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library or eBook Central for further eBooks on your topic.

To access:

BiblioBoard Library
Provides access to public domain, small press and backlist content with additional functionality that enables libraries to create and publish their own content. BiblioBoard Content is unlimited simultaneous use and follows Readers First principles.

eBook Central
Choose from 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. ProQuest Ebook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform. Its mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Collections of eBooks available via EBSCOhost.

Credo Reference
Full text database of articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major topics; includes audio files, images, and maps.

Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library)
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more..

The databases are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid BCC Campus card activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library & Learning Commons at any of the four campus locations to activate.

Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.

 The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want to find:

• a summary of a topic
• background information on a topic
• a list of recommended resources
• factual information

When you find a reference book:

• Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
• Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
• Use the index to locate your topic within the book.

Scroll down for a list of some key resources in the field of Clinical Laboratory Science. These titles are located in the reference section. You can click on this link to perform a search in HELM using the topic Clinical Science, Clinical Immunology, Immunology, Hematology, and Clinical and Laboratory.
 

Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management
Recognized as the definitive book in laboratory medicine since 1908, Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods, edited by Richard A. McPherson, MD and Matthew R. Pincus, MD, PhD, is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary pathology reference that gives you state-of-the-art guidance on lab test selection and interpretation of results. Revisions throughout keep you current on the latest topics in the field, such as biochemical markers of bone metabolism, clinical enzymology, pharmacogenomics, and more!
RB 37 C54 2007
REF RB 37 C54 2011

Manual of clinical microbiology
To clinical microbiologists, laboratory technologists, and infectious disease specialists for 40 years, enabling them to accurately detect clinically significant bacteria, viruses, fungi, and parasites. This 10th edition represents the collaborative efforts of 22 editors and more than 260 authors from around the world, all experienced researchers and practitioners in medical and diagnostic microbiology. Together, they have brought the manual fully up to date, producing two volumes, nine sections, and 149 chapters that is filled with the latest research findings, infectious agents, methods, practices, and safety guidelines. This 10th edition continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practice. It begins with a section dedicated to core diagnostic strategies and topics. Next, it helps readers understand the underlying mechanisms of both common and emerging infectious agents and diseases. With its careful step-by-step guidance, the Manual enables readers to correctly perform the appropriate diagnostic, therapeutic, and susceptibility tests and then interpret the results. Rounding out its coverage, the Manual addresses the taxonomy, biology, epidemiology, transmission, and clinical significance of almost all microorganisms that cause disease in humans. Fully updated and revised, this edition encapsulates the knowledge, practices, and procedures of the field, enabling readers to accurately detect pathogens and diagnose infectious disease.
REF QR 46 M425 2011 V.1-2

ACP medicine
ACP Medicine is the first comprehensive reference to carry the name of the American College of Physicians. Developed to help busy physicians keep up with changing guidelines in primary care, ACP Medicine is a continually updated, evidence-based reference of internal medicine.
REF R 129 S37  V.1-4

Transfusion medicine : case studies and clinical management
This book covers a variety of problems in transfusion medicine, developing the critical thinking that leads to diagnosis and appropriate management. Covers immune complications, microbiological problems and management of complex situations such as multiple trauma.
REF RM 171 C38 2012

Intravenous medications : a handbook for nurses and health professionals
"The #1 IV drug handbook for nearly 40 years, Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals is the go-to resource for all the information you need to safely administer more than 350 intravenous drugs. Whether you prefer the convenient electronic format or the newly redesigned portable print version, this new edition offers alphabetical organization, a detailed appendix of generic and trade names, pharmacologic actions, hundreds of new drug facts, and entries for new IV drugs recently approved by the FDA. There's no other resource more trusted for its accuracy and comprehensive coverage."--Publisher's website.
RM 170 G33 2012 - Fall River
REF RM 170 G33 2013 - Fall River
REF RM 170 G33 2013 - New Bedford

Goldman's Cecil medicine 24th ed.
Since 1927, Goldman's Cecil Medicine has been the world's most influential internal medicine reference. Edited by Lee Goldman, MD and Andrew I. Schafer, MD, with associate editors and contributors who number among the most recognized and respected authorities in the field, Cecil continues to set the standard for all other resources of its kind. This dynamic, multi-media reference - with its practical, straight-forward style, accessible organization, evidence-ranked references, and robust online content - is quite simply the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, state-of-the-art clinical answers you need. Definitive, unbiased, evidence-based guidance is at your fingertips.
REF RC 46 C423 2012 V.1-2

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, Second Edition
provides a thorough and up-to-date treatment of essentially all concepts that are needed to comprehend contemporary immunology. Encyclopedic in scope and with succinct entries, it includes terms from all of the subspecialties from molecular immunology to transplantation. It also covers recent developments in a rapidly expanding field. Presented in a format understandable to non-immunologists and immunologists alike, it contains more than 1,000 computer generated figures, line drawings, and photographs to help clarify and de-mystify the complex terminology of immunology.
REF QR 180.4 C78 2003

Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology
Established since 1942 as the leading hematology textbook, the text continues its tradition of correlating basic science with the clinical practice of hematology and is organized to help physicians find clinical answers quickly and easily.
RB 145 W74 2004 V.1-2
RB 145 W74 2009 V.1-2
REF RB 145 W74 2014

Manual of molecular and clinical laboratory immunology
Renamed Manual of Molecular and Clinical Laboratory Immunology, the 7th edition of the Manual of Clinical Laboratory Immunology continues the tradition of serving as the guide for laboratory directors. The new edition places substantial emphasis on molecular techniques and introduces new material that reflects the significant advances and developments in the field of clinical immunology. This valuable reference will be of practical use to immunologists and will serve the needs of students, instructors, and practitioners of clinical immunology.
REF RB 46.5 M36 2006

Tietz fundamentals of clinical chemistry and molecular diagnostics
In most clinical laboratories, the Tietz Textbook is an obligatory reference book, kept in a central place, always available to everyone—laboratory scientists, trainees, and students alike. This edition is a welcome, carefully prepared update, and it considers all of the recent striking developments in clinical chemistry as a leading discipline of laboratory medicine. Although the basic principles and the general outline of the book have been maintained, there are numerous changes from the previous edition, as reflected by the new title, which now includes the wording "Molecular Diagnostics".
REF RB 40 T44 2015

Technical manual of the American Association of Blood Banks
The transfusion medicine and cellular therapies landscape is changing like never before, and it can be challenging to keep up to date with developments. The Technical Manual is a valuable resource that helps newcomers and seasoned professional alike find the information they need to stay ahead of the changes currently unfolding. Expert chapter authors give you the benefit of their knowledge and experience.  Completely revised and expanded patient blood management content to reflect recent developments and initiatives.  Enhanced suite of chapters on the most relevant topics of interest to cellular therapy professionals. Immunohematology chapters reflecting both serologic and molecular aspects.
RM 172 T4 1999
RM 172 T4 2008
REF RM 172 T4 2014