Clinical Lab Science: Articles & Databases

Databases are basically a collection of data arranged for ease and speed of search and retrieval.  Databases use the search terms you provide to search the journals within their collection for articles that have those terms either in the article or in the subject to come up with a list of results.

How you find what you are looking for sometimes feels a lot like luck.  Most databases now take their searching premise from Google - one searchbox that uses natural language.

Nothing can take the place of the reference interview - but if time is limited, we have organized some of our best allied health databases that will help you locate the infomation you need to complete your assignments.

Simply click on the link - if logging in from home type in your activated accessBCC card when prompted - and type in your search terms.  If you need assistance, contact the Reference Desk through our online form or at 508-678-2811 x2108.  We will be glad to help you.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Provides patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.

CINAHL
This database provides indexing for over 2,818 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Full text material includes more than 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Coverage: 1982 – present.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Providing full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 456 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.

Health & Wellness (Gale)
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Health & Medicine (Gale)
This multi-source database integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Most of these sources provide the full text of the article/chapter. Find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Coverage: 1980 – present.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Coverage: 1975 – present.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
One of the richest collections of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 300 full text consumer health periodicals. It also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 129 health reference books. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports; Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to 1,100 drug monograph entries and 2,700 patient education fact sheets; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

MEDLINE
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search citations and abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine OneFile (Gale)
Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.

Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase
The Scientific & Medical ART  (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 20,000+ high quality illustrations and  animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma,  embryology, histology, and other health science topics.  SMART Imagebase users  may download images for educational, non-commercial use in lectures,  presentations, slide shows, web sites and more. Common types of visual  presentations include PowerPoint shows, handouts, poster sessions, and  interactive Flash animations.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (1985-Present)
Medical database providing full text for over 100 journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed, scholarly publications. (Some titles have indexing and abstracts only for earlier years.) Virtually every area of medical study is covered, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. All titles included in this database are also indexed in MEDLINE, with a link from the MEDLINE article to the article in this database if Biomedical Reference Collection has the full text article.