Trial to Streaming Videos
In order to meet the needs of our users, the LRC arranges for free trials to databases that might be of interest to the college community. Details of current database trials, arranged for evaluation purposes, are listed below.
Please let us know what you think by sending us your comments on our Feedback form.
Academic Video Online: Premium
Alexander Street's most comprehensive video subscription, an ever-growing resource that comprises content from 26 full video collections and 8 bonus discipline clusters. It provides a selection of key content from more than two dozen best-selling video collections. This trial will conclude on December 13, 2013.
- American History in Video
- Art and Architecture in Video
- Black Studies in Video
- Classical Music in Video
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
- Current Affairs in Video
- Ethnographic Video Online
- Filmakers Library Online
- Global Business and Economics in Video
- Health and Society in Video
- LGBT Studies in Video
- Theatre in Video
- World History in Video
- World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966
Nursing Education in Video
Alexander Street's partnership with Medcom-Trainex, one of the largest providers of nursing education video programs worldwide, Nursing Education in Video gives faculty and students anywhere-anytime access to Medcom's highly regarded library of full-length training programs--online in streaming video--with all of the search power and advanced functionality that Alexander Street's video collections deliver.This trial will conclude on December 13, 2013.
The LRC has a collection of streaming videos specific for nursing. Below is a brief description of the selected titles and instructions on how to access. Please visit the database Films On Demand for further streaming videos on your topic.
Films On Demand videos are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid AccessBCC ID activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library at any of the three campuses to activate. Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.
Basic Clinical Skills: Surgical Wound Care
Focusing on emotional as well as physical aspects of postoperative healing, this program thoroughly illustrates essential techniques and supplies required for changing a variety of surgical wound dressings and addresses potential complications that can affect open and closed wounds. Assessment of a patient's pain level and overall condition during recovery is also explained. Graphic clinical footage and photos appear throughout. © 1988
Run time: 27
Anxiety Disorders: Psychotropic Medications
This program addresses the various anxiety disorders, including panic attacks and obsessive compulsive disorder, and their massive impact on daily life. The role of counseling and the effects of the medications currently in use are also considered. A part of the series Psychotropic Medications. © 2005
Run time: 17
Calculations for Emergency Medications: Mathematics for Nursing
Using narration and clear, straightforward animation, this video explains in detail how to calculate safe and accurate doses of epinephrine, lidocaine, and amiodorone. A part of the series Mathematics for Nursing. © 2007
Run time: 20
Conversions: Mathematics for Nursing
This video explains the fundamentals of conversion and calculations by discussing decimal system conversions. Topics include multiplying by powers of ten, dividing by powers of ten, converting from one prefix to another, and converting from non SI units to SI units. A part of the series Mathematics for Nursing. © 2007
Run time: 20
The Nursing Process
This video introduces trainees to the nursing process, encouraging them to think of it as a system for planning patient care. The video identifies and describes the five steps of the process. A part of the series Nursing Process and Critical Thinking.© 2004
Run time: 32
These five titles below have been specifically chosen by the library liaison and nursing faculty to support the nursing students at Bristol Community College. Thanks to a grant from the BCC Foundation, these titles will enhance your learning experience. Professors have the option of adding these titles to their online coursespace.
Becoming Culturally Competent
Tools for increasing cultural competency through self-awareness and improved interpersonal skills are the core of this program. Techniques to avoid generalization of cultural traits are discussed, as are cultural influences on attitudes toward family roles, modesty, nutrition, birthing and parenting, death and dying, and alternative health care practices.
Run Time: 18
Committment: Patients, Professionalism, and Boundaries
The focus of this program is the second provision of the ANA Code of Ethics. The role of the nurse as patient advocate is discussed. It also addresses conflicts of interest and professional boundaries.
Run Time: 21
Physical Examination of the Neonate
This program demonstrates immediate assessment of the newly-born with an emphasis on criteria that confirm the neonate is in stable condition. It begins by illustrating how to perform a systematic, detailed examination that includes checking vital signs and evaluating the head and neck, abdomen, extremities, and genitals. In addition, recognizing normal variations among newborns is explored. Finally, methods utilized to prevent dangerous heat loss are described.
Run Time: 28
Gestational Age Assessment of the Neonate
This program demonstrates how to determine the gestational age of a newborn based on physical and neuromuscular findings. It illustrates how to compute the findings to distinguish those infants who are born at term from those who are preterm or postterm. It also demonstrates how to correlate gestational age with the size of the infant and to identify those infants who are small, large or appropriate in size for their gestational age. In addition, this program illustrates procedures such as eye care, intramuscular injections, and obtaining capillary blood.
Run Time: 24
Hypoglycemia, Hyperglycemia, and Monitoring
Describes the three acute, metabolic complications of diabetes:hypoglycemia, diabetic ketoacidosis, and hyperosmolar hyperglycemic state. Illustrates the causes and symptoms of these complications as well as preventive and treatment measures. Presents the importance of blood and urine monitoring to prevent and detect these complications.
Run Time: 26